Some teenagers consider scrambled eggs their specialty…

7 July, 2012 § 1 Comment

…but not this one.

Hi! My name is Katy, and this is my first attempt at food blogging. I am a 17-year old chef-in-training, and I’ve been making a mess of my kitchen since I could reach the counter. My first effort was, naturally, a disaster (I’m looking at you, gingersnap salad)–but I’ve come a long way since then.

My mother is a fantastic cook who shies away from no culinary challenge, and she’s taught me to be the same. My grandma never let my mom in the kitchen, so she went on a mission to play opposites and teach me everything she knows. Whether it be truffles out of the Payard cookbook or an excruciating 3-day roast, you name it, I’ll try to make it.

That being said, I’m happiest when I’m baking (hence the title). My friends have learned to love exams–for them, they often translate into cookies. As a perfectionist, I’m comforted by my ability to get from start to finish and produce something beautiful and yummy. As a listophile, I love writing grocery lists and rearranging recipes, and as a health nut, I enjoy tweaking them to make them slightly less sinful.

Of course, when I eat out, I pay less attention to nutritious and more attention to delicious. Aside from being lucky enough to have developed a very discerning palate, I’ve also been taught to be an adventurous and mindful eater. Coming from a family of open-minded foodies, I’m proud to say that my favorite food is an honest-to-god tie between beluga caviar and Kraft mac n’ cheese.

As I’m starting this blog in the summer months, I should mention that my culinary experiments become more adventurous. When homework isn’t an issue and heat is, I love to spend quality time with my Cuisinart (among other things) and see what I’ve been missing on the savory side. I’ve recently joined Pinterest–I’m already obsessed–so I have lots of inspiration to go off of for salads, sandwiches and more.

I created this blog in order to share with others my passion for cooking and baking and my fearless approach to all things food. I thought it would be interesting to have a teenager’s point of view floating around in the food blog world, which I’ve found is dominated by 20- and 30-somethings. I also recognize that I have a lot to learn about both food and food blogging–so skeptics, I welcome you with open arms (and cabinets). If I can make you smile, laugh or learn something along the way, even better.

Cheers!

Katy

§ One Response to Some teenagers consider scrambled eggs their specialty…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some teenagers consider scrambled eggs their specialty… at .

meta

